So, it happened to me, like most of my friends with children and iTunes accounts.  And now I want a logout button or a logout app for my iPad. The kid was in a child friendly game, and

  1. a request to buy something popped up, and
  2. he happily clicked YES.

Since the device (in my case an iPad, but this is even more common on iPhones) was still within the time buffer for login, there was automatic approval of the purchase.

On the bright side, I got a happy child with a killer bird for AngryBirds.  On the down side I got an email, drowning in similar emails, about a purchase that was done with my iPad, and I had to pay money.  If he had been in the smurf town, like so many other Norwegian kids, this could have cost me 549 NOK (around 70 euros), as the unhappy dad whose daughter spent 4500 NOK in a free game discovered.

Why is there no logout button in the AppStore? Why is there no logout in iTunes? Why have they chosen to do the cannot-by-stuff-from-within-apps configuration in a submenu where you must enable restrictions explicitly for each device instead of offering me the ability to simply log out and then hand over the device to the kids?  Enabling a long long menu of stuff I do not really understand what is seems more complex to me than simply allowing logout.  Then I am probably spoiled by the elegant and simple logout support in Feide.

Logout is crucial on shared devices, to ensure that the next user does not gain unreasonable privileges.  Family iPads fall in the category of shared devices.  Give us logout in AppStore!

UPDATE: …and a bit embarrassed (but mostly happy)  I have to admit that iTunes has a logout button, available from the iTunes Store menu.  Took me a while to find it, and it does not help in AppStore, but it is great to have in iTunes.

